romancingtheclassics

One girl's journey to read the top 100 literature classics of all time in the space of 365 days, a quest for only the most foolhardy and brave

Which classic character gets you hot under the collar?

While pondering my shamless Hemingway groupie/crush fantasy I couldn’t help but think about some of the literary heart throbs which have crossed the pages I’ve read and that I’m about to read over the next couple of months.

If you could choose one literary heart throb to leap from the pages to save you, which one would it be?

a) Mr Darcy (Pride and Prejudice) – the moody one but still waters run deep

b) Mr Jay Gatsby (The Great Gatsby) – the rich one with emotional baggage and prone to loneliness

c) Mr George Knightley (Emma) – the male best friend secretly in love with the lead female and waiting in the wings

d) Hamlet (Hamlet) – the dark and troubled one with family issues

e) Heathcliffe (Wuthering Heights) – the bad boy who can bring out the worst in the lead character

f) Romeo (Romeo and Juliet) – the passionate lover who every girl family loves to hate

Personally when it comes to Authors, Hemingway is my man but when it comes to literature heart throbs I don’t think you can’t really go past Mr Darcy.

Be interested to hear what others think 🙂

x

J

Single Post Navigation

4 thoughts on “Which classic character gets you hot under the collar?

  1. I know it is a cliche but definitely Mr. Darcy, although Gatsby is a close second.

    • Couldn’t agree more Allison! Darcy definitely has his charm. It will be interesting though to see how Gatsby is brought to life in the upcoming movie wont it?

      • I’m so excited about the film. Have you seen the Robert Redford version. He was (obviously) dreamy, but as a whole the movie was a let down.

  2. I know me too, can’t wait for the film. Here’s hoping Leonardo does the role justice. I haven’t seen the Robert Redford one, think I might need to hire it and check it out for myself. Thanks for the tip!

Leave a Reply

